Cover photo for Harry "Butch" Eugene Winslow's Obituary
Harry "Butch" Eugene Winslow Profile Photo

Harry "Butch" Eugene Winslow

July 23, 1948 — May 22, 2022

Harry “Butch” Eugene Winslow, 74, of New Carlisle, IN, died Sunday, May 22, 2022, in Memorial Hospital after a valiant fight against bladder cancer from Agent Orange.

After his older sister, Linda Lou Winslow, passed away at just 9 months old, Harry charged into the world July 23, 1948, in Watervliet, Michigan, son of the late Cecil Vincent (nee Drake) and Lucille L. (Weston) Winslow. As a teen he continued ahead to challenge life by amateur racing his self-maintained Mustang, something he won many trophies doing.

He was drafted into the Vietnam War and began serving February 19, 1969, as a combat infantryman becoming a helicopter gunman, until he was honorably discharged with a Purple Heart, a Vietnam Service Medal w/ 2 Bronze Stars, and an Army Commendation Medal among other awards, February 19, 1971, after his helicopter was shot down. He was the sole survivor of the crash.

Harry retired from the Michigan Department of Transportation in 1990. During some of his time at the Michigan Department of Transportation, he concurrently worked at the Allegan County Sheriff Department Reserves. After retiring from Michigan, he worked at the St. Joseph County Sheriff Department as a Corrections Officer from 1995 until he retired from that position in 2010, and most recently he worked at the R&B Car Company in South Bend, IN, until 2021, when he fought and survived a 3-month battle with COVID-19.

He spent his spare time working on his beloved Shelby Mustang, which he bought to remind him of the Mustang he lost upon being drafted. He also enjoyed going over his mother’s old photographs, slides, and mementos, which his daughter had inherited, and telling stories to her about the people in them and the times he had growing up.

Harry is survived by his wife, Debra (Cowham) Winslow, whom he married August 28, 1982, his daughter and son-in-law, Jason and Jennifer (Szilagyi) Reinoehl, and five grandchildren: Jason II, Samuel, Sarah, Leah, and Talitha.

A time of visitation will be held from 4-7 pm CST (5-8 pm EST) on Friday, May 27, 2022, and 10 am CST (11 am EST) until the time of service on Saturday, May 28, 2022, at Cutler Funeral Home and Cremation Center in LaPorte, IN.

A Celebration of Life Service will be held at 11:00 am CST (12 pm EST) on Saturday, May 28, 2022, also at Cutler Funeral Home and Cremation Center.

The burial will take place at Fort Custer National Cemetery in Augusta, MI, on June 3, 2022, at 12:30 pm CST (1:30 pm EST).

Memorial donations can be made to the family c/o Debra Winslow, 2900 Monroe Street, LaPorte, IN, 46530.

Condolences may be shared with the family on www.cutlercares.com.

To order memorial trees or send flowers to the family in memory of Harry "Butch" Eugene Winslow, please visit our flower store.

Service Schedule

Past Services

Visitation

Saturday, May 28, 2022

10:00 - 11:00 am (Central time)

Add to Calendar

Cutler Funeral Home and Cremation Center

2900 Monroe Street
La Porte, IN 46350

*Standard text messaging rates apply.

Celebration of Life Service

Saturday, May 28, 2022

Starts at 11:00 am (Central time)

Add to Calendar

Cutler Funeral Home and Cremation Center

2900 Monroe Street
La Porte, IN 46350

*Standard text messaging rates apply.

Videos

Photo Gallery

Guestbook

Visits: 8

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the
Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Service map data © OpenStreetMap contributors